Tuesday, 6 December 2011

Cricket World Cup 1979 - Champion Cricket World Cup 1979

The second ICC Cricket World Cup took place in 1979 and the ODI tournament was also known as Prudential World Cup. It is also known 2nd Prudential Cup 1979.

The second ICC World Cup was organized in the year 1979 and saw England playing the host once again. The tournament stretched on from June 9 to June 23, following the same format as the first World Cup. In total, eight teams played in the tournament, which were divided into two groups (with four teams each). The teams comprised of all the six test-playing nations (Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan and the West Indies), along with Sri Lanka and Canada. From each group, the two top teams progressed to the semi-finals, with the winners competing against each other in the final match.

The 2nd ODI World Cup also comprised of 60 overs per team. The players were seen wearing the traditional white clothing, while the red balls were used for bowling. Again, the concept of day and night matches was not present, with both the innings being played in the daytime. Also known as the Prudential Cup, the tournament saw the West Indies team defeating Pakistan in the finals, by 92 runs and registering their second win. Vivian Richards was declared 'Man of the Match', while there was no 'Man of the Series'. The most runs were taken by Gordon Greenidge (253), while most wickets claimed by Mike Hendrick (10).
1979 Prudential World Cup
    1979 Prudential World Cup statistics
  • Administrator - International Cricket Council
  • Cricket format - One Day International
  • Tournament formats - Round robin and Knockout
  • Host - England
  • Champions - West Indies (2nd title)
  • Participants - 8
  • Matches played - 15
  • Attendance - 132,000 (8,800 per match)
  • Most runs - Gordon Greenidge (253)
  • Most wickets - Mike Hendrick (10)
Share on :

No comments:

Post a Comment

Urban Greek Dwarka © Copyright Cricket Match Update News