Tuesday, 6 December 2011

Cricket World Cup 1983 - Champion Cricket World Cup 1983

The 3rd ICC Cricket World Cup, won by India, was played in England in the year 1983. The ODI tournament was third in the series. It is also known 3rd Prudential Cup 1983.
The third edition of the ICC World Cup was played in 1983 and continued to be known as the Prudential Cup. Once again witnessing the country of England playing as the host, the tournament was played over a period of 17 days, from June 9 to June 25. The number of teams participating in the event continued to be eight, comprising of England, Pakistan, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, West Indies, India, Australia, and Zimbabwe. The format comprised of Round Robin and Knock-out, with 27 matches being played in total (played during the day and comprising of 60 overs per team).

The preliminary matches of the 3rd ODI World Cup were played in two groups, each comprising of four teams. All the teams in a group had to play with each other twice, with the two top teams qualifying for the semi-finals. England, Pakistan, India and West Indies qualified for the semifinals, with the Indian team emerging as the winner in the final match. With this, India registered its first win in the ICC World Cup. Amarnath, the most economical bowler of the match, was awarded the 'Man of the Match'. In the tournament, the most runs were taken by David Gower (384) and the maximum wickets were claimed by Roger Binny (18).
1983 Prudential World Cup
    1983 Prudential World Cup statistics
  • Administrator - International Cricket Council
  • Cricket format - One Day International
  • Tournament formats - Round robin and Knockout
  • Host - England
  • Champions - India (1st title)
  • Participants - 8
  • Matches played - 27
  • Attendance - 232,081 (8,596 per match)
  • Most runs - David Gower (384)
  • Most wickets - Roger Binny (18)
Share on :

No comments:

Post a Comment

Urban Greek Dwarka © Copyright Cricket Match Update News