Tuesday, 6 December 2011

Cricket World Cup 1992 - Champion Cricket World Cup 1992

Hosted by Australia & New Zealand, the fifth (5th) edition of ICC Cricket World Cup was played in 1992. It is also known Benson & Hedges World Cup 1992.

The fifth ICC Cricket World Cup, also known as Benson & Hedges World Cup, saw Australia and New Zealand playing the hosts. It started on 22nd February 1992 and ended on 25th March 1992. A number of firsts have been attached with the fifth edition of the ODI tournament. For instance, it saw the introduction of colored clothing for the players, along with white balls and black sightscreens. Not only this, it was the first time that a number of matches were played under floodlights, rather than sunlight. The number of participating teams went up to nine, with the inclusion of South Africa (boycotted earlier) in the test-playing nations.

The first ODI World Cup to be held in the Southern Hemisphere, it also witnessed a complete Round Robin replacing the two qualifying groups that were present earlier. The participants included Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, and Zimbabwe. Pakistan, the team that had initially won just one of its first five matches in the World Cup, turned the game later on and went ahead to win the final and claim the trophy, defeating England by 22 runs. In this tournament, for the first time, 'Man of the Series' was awarded and it went to Martin Crowe from New Zealand.
1992 Benson & Hedges World Cup
    1992 Benson and Hedges World Cup statistics
  • Administrator - International Cricket Council
  • Cricket format - One Day International
  • Tournament formats - Round robin and Knockout
  • Hosts - Australia and New Zealand
  • Champions - Pakistan (1st title)
  • Participants - 9
  • Matches played - 39
  • Most runs - Martin Crowe (456)
  • Most wickets - Wasim Akram (18)
  • Player of the series - Martin Crowe (New Zealand)
Source- http://worldcup.cricketworld4u.com/1992-wc.php
Share on :

No comments:

Post a Comment

Urban Greek Dwarka © Copyright Cricket Match Update News