Tuesday, 6 December 2011

Cricket World Cup 1996 - Champion Cricket World Cup 1996

The sixth (6th) edition of ICC Cricket World Cup was played in 1996, in India, Pakistan & Sri Lanka. The ODI tournament was won by Sri Lanka. It is also known Wills World Cup 1996.
The sixth edition of the ODI World Cup saw the matches being played in three different countries of the world, namely India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Stretching on from 16th February to 17th March 1996, the tournament was also known as Wills World Cup (after the official sponsor). It comprised of 37 matches, with 17 being played in India, 14 in Pakistan and 6 in Sri Lanka. The 12 participants included Sri Lanka, Australia, India, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Kenya, South Africa, Pakistan, New Zealand, England, UAE and Netherlands.

The sixth ICC Cricket World Cup saw the debut of United Arab Emirates, the Netherlands and Kenya. Australia and Sri Lanka were the two teams that finally went to the finals. In the last match, played between the two teams, Sri Lanka managed to defeat Australia by 7 wickets. With this, history was created, since it was the first time that the tournament was won by a host or co-host. Aravinda de Silva won the 'Man of the Match', while 'Man of the Series' went to Sanath Jayasuriya. Sachin Tendulkar scored the maximum number of runs (523), while Anil Kumble went home as the highest wicket-taker (with 15 wickets in hand).
1996 Wills World Cup

    1996 Wills World Cup statistics
  • Administrator - International Cricket Council
  • Cricket format - One Day International
  • Tournament formats - Round robin and Knockout
  • Hosts - India, Pakistann and Sri Lanka
  • Champions - Sri Lanka (1st title)
  • Participants - 12
  • Matches played - 37
  • Most runs - Sachin Tendulkar (523)
  • Most wickets - Anil Kumble (15)
  • Player of the series - Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka)
Share on :

No comments:

Post a Comment

Urban Greek Dwarka © Copyright Cricket Match Update News