Tuesday, 6 December 2011

Cricket World Cup 1999 - Champion Cricket World Cup 1999

The seventh edition of ICC Cricket World Cup saw Australia registering its second win. The ODI tournament was played in 1999, hosted by England.

England once again became the host of the ICC Cricket World Cup, when it was organized in 1999. However, this time, the country had co-hosts in the form of Ireland, Wales, Scotland and the Netherlands. The twelve teams, divided into two groups, that participated in the tournament were Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Bangladesh, Kenya, and Scotland. The format of the game was changed. It started with a league stage, in which each of the teams in a group played with each other. Thereafter came the Super Sixes, the stage in which the three top teams from one group played against the three top teams from the other group.

The second-last round was semi-finals, comprising of the top four teams of the Super Sixes. At last, the final match was played between the two top teams in the semi-finals, which in this case were Pakistan and Australia. The latter emerged as the winner, by defeating its rival for 8 wickets, thus registering its second win in the ODI World Cup. Shane Warne became the 'Man of the Match' and Lance Klusener was titled 'Man of the Series'. Shane Warne also claimed the most number of wickets, along with Geoff Allott (20 each), while Rahul Dravid made the maximum runs (461).
1999 World Cup
    1999 ICC World Cup statistics
  • Administrator - International Cricket Council
  • Cricket format - One Day International
  • Tournament formats - Round robin and Knockout
  • Host - England
  • Champions - Australia (2nd title)
  • Participants - 12
  • Matches played - 42
  • Most runs - Rahul Dravid (461))
  • Most wickets - Geoff Allott (20) and Shane Warne (20)
  • Player of the series - Lance Klusener (South Africa)
Source- http://worldcup.cricketworld4u.com/1999-wc.php
Share on :

No comments:

Post a Comment

Urban Greek Dwarka © Copyright Cricket Match Update News