Monday, 5 December 2011

Cricket World Cup 2003 - Champion Cricket World Cup 2003

South Africa, Zimbabwe & Kenya hosted the eighth (8th) ICC Cricket World Cup, in 2003. The ODI tournament was won by Australia. 

The eighth edition of ODI World Cup was played in three countries, comprising of South Africa, Zimbabwe and Kenya, from February 9 to March 24, 2003. It saw the number of participating teams increase to 14, comprising of Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Kenya, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, and Zimbabwe, along with the ICC Trophy Qualifiers - Canada, Namibia, and the Netherlands. A total of 54 matches were played in the tournament (the most in World Cup history so far), following the same format that was introduced in 1999.

The 8th ICC Cricket World Cup saw the teams being divided into two groups, each with seven teams. The top three teams of each group, i.e. Australia, India, Kenya, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, and Zimbabwe, competed with each other in the 'Super-6' stage. Out of these, Australia, Sri Lanka, India and Kenya qualified for the semi-finals. The final was played between Australia and India, with the former defeating the latter by 48 runs. Ricky Ponting was named "Man of the Match" in the final; while Sachin Tendulkar was awarded 'Player of the Series' (he also scored the maximum runs � 673). Chaminda Vaas took the maximum number of wickets (23) in the series.
2003 World Cup
    2003 ICC World Cup statistics
  • Administrator - International Cricket Council
  • Cricket format - One Day International
  • Tournament formats - Round robin and Knockout
  • Hosts - South Africa, Zimbabwe and Kenya
  • Champions - Australia (3rd title)
  • Participants - 14
  • Matches played - 54
  • Attendance - 626,845 (11,608 per match)
  • Most runs - Sachin Tendulkar (673)
  • Most wickets - Chaminda Vaas (23)
  • Player of the series - Sachin Tendulkar (India)
Share on :

No comments:

Post a Comment

Urban Greek Dwarka © Copyright Cricket Match Update News