Sunday, 4 December 2011

Cricket World Cup 2007 - Champion Cricket World Cup 2007

The ninth ICC Cricket World Cup saw Australia registering its fourth win. The ODI tournament was hosted by West Indies in 200
With the popularity of ICC Cricket World Cup increasing day by day, its ninth edition saw the participation increase to 16 teams. Apart from the ten full members of ICC, i.e. Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, and Zimbabwe, the contestants included ICC Trophy Qualifiers - Bermuda, Canada, Kenya, Ireland, Netherlands and Scotland. Following ICC's rotational policy, the tournament was played in West Indies (with this, it was held in the Caribbean for the first time). Though the number of teams increased from 2003 ODI World Cup, the number of matches came down to 51. There was a change in the format, with the total number of teams being equally divided into four groups. The top two teams from each group went ahead to participate in the 'Super-8'. The semi-finals were played between Australia, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and South Africa (the top teams in Super-8). Australia and Sri Lanka were the two teams that went ahead to play the final match, with the former winning by 53 runs. With this, Australia registered its fourth win in the ICC Cricket World Cup. Australian bowler Glenn McGrath was named 'Player of the Series' (he claimed maximum wickets - 26).2007 World Cup
    2007, ICC World Cup statistics
  • Administrator - International Cricket Council
  • Cricket format - One Day International
  • Tournament formats - Round robin and Knockout
  • Host - West Indies
  • Champions - Australia (4th title)
  • Participants - 16
  • Matches played - 51
  • Attendance - 672,000 (13,176 per match)
  • Most runs - Matthew Hayden (659)
  • Most wickets - Glenn McGrath (26)
  • Player of the series - Glenn McGrath (Australia)
Source- cricketworld4u
Share on :

No comments:

Post a Comment

Urban Greek Dwarka © Copyright Cricket Match Update News